Advice from Mexico

MVC-003S

Seventeen days ’til I will be on the beach. I decided that today I will tell a story about some of the locals.  One afternoon, we were hanging out around the town square. People started to gather, and more, and more. It seemed to me to be the whole town. Many of the children were wearing costumes. I had no idea what the reason for this crowd was. Music started playing from somewhere in the distance and it was getting closer. We then started to see peek views of beat-up vehicles with girls in the beds of the trucks. It was a parade. It was no extravagant parade, but it was a parade. The girls were wearing beautiful dresses and showing huge grins. Everyone on the premises was as happy as could be. We enjoyed the rest of the beautiful night. When the day was almost over, we again sat in the town square. An elderly man was sitting alone. My mom, being her usual talkative self, started a conversation with him. He was very interesting and had so much personality. Soon, my family was gathered around him. He told us that he never wore a watch, which at the time I thought all grown-ups wore watches. But still, his reasoning was so deep. He explained that there was no need to know the time, much less by only looking at one’s wrist. He told us that by not wearing a watch, he is able to enjoy life to its fullest without distractions. He rarely made appointments. We do live in a different situation here. But, I think as often as possible under the right circumstances we should try to leave all that behind. I can not imagine life without feeling rushed. I know that it is the cause of all of my stress. The lyrics to one of my favorite songs says, “You realize that life goes fast. It’s hard to make the good things last. You realize the sun doesn’t go down. It’s just an illusion caused by the world spinning round.” So true, so true. If we look at life and our time from this point of view, then there is no such thing as “time.”

January 25, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

